Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true this statement? How far colours influence people's health and capacity for work?

For decades, it has been highly concerned by scientists and the public that colours can have a significant impact on human behaviour and mood. According to the aforementioned reason, some people believe that it is necessary to take colours into consideration when decorating buildings. In this essay, I will discuss how colours affect us in our daily lives, and how far colours can influence our health, as well as our performances at work. It is obvious that the implication of colour exists everywhere, such as roads, hospitals and business places. Firstly, bright colours, such as yellow and red, are often used to raise people’s attention to safety. For example, it is highly recommended by governments that citizens wear bright clothes when walking on roads at night in order to keep themselves from being crushed by cars accidentally. Furthermore, studies show that colours can influence one’s appetite, and that is the reason why plates are seldom coloured in green or blue. With the pieces of evidence mentioned above, here are more examples to show how far colours influence society’s mental health and increase their performance. A case in point is that the colour red can hardly be found in hospitals, because red is the colour of blood. In order to soften both doctors’ and clients’ stress, red is always been avoided to use in decorating hospitals. As for business occasions, such as having a discussion in a meeting room, white must be the first choice to release the atmosphere and keep the situation from becoming a fierce debate. In conclusion, it is undoubtedly that the use of colours has a far-reaching impact on people’s lives, and it can influence not only the folk’s performance at work but also their mental health.