Nowadays, tourism is developing really fast. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, it can be seen that tourism is growing quickly. Although developing tourism can have certain drawbacks, I personally believe that the benefits are more significant. On the one hand, there are some negative effects of developing tourism. One of the most significant adverse impacts of tourism is its effects on the environment. When tourists come to a destination, they usually create a large amount of trash and throw it irresponsibly. Also, a lot of trees may be cut down to make room for building hotels and other tourist facilities. Another negative effect is developing tourism causes a loss of local traditions and cultures. One of the main reasons is that tourism can lead to the commercialization of local cultures. For example, a lot of traditional dances for special occasions are now performed regularly just to entertain tourists. On the other hand, it is my firm belief that the positive effects of developing tourism are more considerable. One of the most significant positive impacts of tourism is its effects on the economy. When tourists come to a destination, they are inclined to enjoy the services and purchase products there. As a result, there will be more job opportunities as well as higher income for local residents. Another positive effect is that developing tourism may help develop transport infrastructure. This is mainly because when a lot of tourists come to a destination, the transport system needs to be upgraded to accommodate the number of visitors. To illustrate this point, the pass to Dalat, a very popular city in Vietnam, is being upgraded because so many tourists come here every year. In conclusion, while there are certain demerits regarding environmental pollution and loss of cultural values of developing tourism, I am firmly convinced that the merits in terms of economic and transport system development are weightier.