People should start to follow customs and traditions when starting to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Part of globalisation is people moving across different countries. There are several reasons for this, such as to study, to work, or to travel. It is often advised that it is vital to fully adapt to the culture of the country they moved into. In my opinion, it is important to adjust accordingly to the customs and traditions of your chosen country, but keeping your own intact is also needed. This essay will discuss further why I support this view. To begin, It is challenging to form a new set of friends in a foreign land, especially if you are not aware of their culture. We gain confidence in interacting with the residents if we familiarise ourselves with their traditions. In addition, If we respect their cultural routines and try to understand their way of living, this will create a balance in society as well as get acceptance within the community. For example, Japanese people perceive wearing your outside shoes inside their house as rude, because they mostly do their daily activities on their floors. On the other hand, putting your old native traditions into practice will prevent you from culture shock and homesickness, because living away from home and being in a new environment can be intimidating to some foreigners. Therefore, to further practice on what you are accustomed to overseas will keep you connected to your hometown. Take food for instance, Thai food is known for its spices and pungent flavours in comparison with American cuisine, which may seem bland and greasy. This will take time to get used to and you will certainly find seasonings that will suit your taste. In conclusion, people struggle to fit in a nation due to a lack of awareness and familiarity, although pursuing native customs will prevent them from missing home. I believe living in a new country is undeniably challenging, hence to transition gradually will help people create a new identity for themselves.