Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people graviate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

The enticing advert of large scale buisnesses, lures a greater percentage of the population to acquire their products, irrespective of the fact that goods purchased locally may be better. This can generate a lot of problems ranging from health, to financial waste and shall be analysed before drawing a conclusion in this essay. It is a fact that goods, especially edibles, produced in big companies, usually are overprocessed. This is usually to prolong their shelf lives, and also to ensure a higher returns. For instance, packages which have undergone processes in other not to waste when it decays certainly has lost a lot of nutrients as a result, and equally contains preservatives to ensure their longevity. These are pure sources of non communicable diseases in our society, and should be curbed by educating the masses on the need to purchase local products which present in their natural form and are healthier to the body. Furthermore, valuables from these large markets are usually unnecessarily pricy, and can lead to loss of funds. For example, locally made products do not have to build in a lot of expenses into their goods, unlike their counterparts who put in expenditures from their advertisement, transport fare etc, increasing the cost of their production and inadvertently the final price of the merchandise. In conclusion, big buisnesses with rich pockets, easily showcases their products to the larger society, robbing their smaller counterparts the opportunity to sale. This is worrisome because, healthier and cheaper goods may easily be acquired locally. It is therefore very necessary to enlighten the masses on the advantages of purchasing these home made merchandise.