Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Social networking websites are believed to have significant adverse implications on people and society they live in. In this essay, I will argue that websites like Facebook and Twitter are indeed advantageous to both individuals and society as they provide people with means to communicate easily as well as facilitating interaction with larger number of people and befriending them. One of the main reason for my disagreement with the social networking sites having negative effects on mankind and their community is that they are alleviating people's past interaction issues by giving access to these easy-to-use applications and websites. Most of these platforms are presenting a more convenient way to familiarize or chat with others and designed so that individuals could spend as much time as possible interacting with each other. These platforms, also, encourage people's communication due to the fact that their revenue is in large parts based on their users being shown adverts that are poping up whilst using it. Instagram and Tick Tok, for example, have earned a fortune in the advertisements because they have introduced a more suitable environment for their users to interact. The easier the use of websites for communication, the more people will utilize it for their means of communication. Moreover, by spending time on these platforms, one can have access to larger number of individuals to befriend them compared to face-to-face interaction. This can give more opportunities to enlarge the circle of friends and acquintances, and consequently socialize more in respect to the past form of communication. This is not only more beneficial in personal level, but also better for porfessional level since relevant businesses can also interact and expand through these sites. For instance, a commercial photographer can present their work on instagram and attract potential relevant markets or customers of their quality of service. Hence, expanding the circle of people can have personal and professional benefits. In conclusion, I would argue that social networking sites have positive effects on people and society on the grounds that they make communicating more easier, and further, they enlarge the community of friends and people you know, which can have positive prospects both on individual level and professional level.