Much of the food people eat gets transported from farms thousands of miles away. Some believe it would be better for the environment and economy if people only ate food from local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the current trend of purchasing agricultural products from overseas has been a common sight these days. However, this would have detrimental effects on nature and the local economy and it is better to consume domestic foods. On the one hand, consumer choices and surplus will be increased if there are a lot of imported cuisines. That is, agricultural products from overseas enable people to consume a wide variety of foods at a cheaper price. For instance, if there are a tremendous amount of imported products, consumers can purchase fruits and vegetables at a low price. This will lead to a rise in consumer surplus and choices as they buy foods with lower prices and their options are unlimited. On the other hand, buying overseas farm products would help to deteriorate the pollution of the environment and save the local economy. For one, spending on agricultural goods from foreign countries will greatly increase the amount of fuel gas and emission, resulting in abhorrent air conditions. It has been proved that emitting harmful gas like CO2 can contribute to faster climate change all around the world. Moreover, transnational companies can offer products at low prices since their costs are smaller than individual homeland farmers. Therefore, farmers are not competitive enough to sell their products in the market. In this regard, eating food from foreign farmers can help to deter the development of the domestic economy since they cannot earn a greater amount of revenue. In conclusion, while there are some advantages to not spending overseas on products, it is evident that the drawbacks of buying local products outweigh them as it is beneficial to not only nature but also the economic condition of a country.