Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this case? Do you think this is a negative or a positive development?

Recently, the number of custodians using their smartphones has dramatically increased. There is an ongoing discussion among their guardians whether this is a healthy phenomenon or not. I am a staunch believer that spending much time on these new technological devices is waste of time, and can also lead to harmful effects on the health of these children. To embark on, a lot of today’s generations have become addicted to social media. They prefer spending their leisure time playing video games, or even chatting with their friends online to doing any other activity. To illustrate, a plethora of youths have become obsessed with notifications most of the day, and this of course has led to the huge increase in the number of hours spent on new technological devices. This has normally resulted in the withdraw from other activities like doing exercises, biking or even going for a walk. An eminent example of this is Kuwait where teenagers need someone to convince them to leave their smartphones and participate in an outdoor activity. Thus, it can be noticed that children’s addiction for their devices is increasing just for entertainment purposes. Furthermore, the change of the way of spending free time among today’s generations from active to passive has its harmful effect not only on their health, but also on their behavior. This means that wasting time scrolling down the devices leads to deleterious consequences. It is noticed in Saudi Arabia, for example, that a large number of juveniles wear glasses because they have problems with their eyes like eye drought. Therefore, smartphones and other new devices can be considered a negative development. After this essay has manifested the points mentioned above, it can be reiterated that social media and internet have led to a decrease in the productivity of youths. I believe that awareness campaigns should be launched and more restrictions should be imposed to lessen the harmful consequences of new technology.