Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor.

Healthcare has become an actual issue in modern society. A lot of people prefer to use homemade medicaments and apply traditional ways of healing instead of consultation with their regular doctor. In my opinion, this phenomenon can cause a set of negative consequences and this essay will put forward the ensuring arguments to prove my personal view on the situation. First of all, using home medicines can be harmful to patients and provoke the development of illness. It is important to notice that person who does not have at least a bachelor's degree in medicine can not health himself effectively. The craft of recovering is a complex and responsible area, hence, the person who decided to avoid a doctor can cause complications of his disease and experience a number of negative consequences. For example, almost every video that advertises medicaments adds a noticeable text stating that self-medication can be harmful to the health of patients. Secondly, the inability of people to set a correct diagnosis will provoke using of inappropriate pills and syrup. Doctors are getting the necessary knowledge by studying in special universities, so they are able to identify particular illnesses and for apply their respective medical courses. However, some individuals assume that they are able to recognize their disease without the help of professionals, these thoughts in the sum of inaccurate actions can lead to accidents. For instance, I used to ignore my toothache until I almost lost my tooth, I was avoiding the hospital because I was afraid of the dentist and the alternative medicine that I used could cause the spreading of infection and damage other teeth. To conclude, I believe that problems with health can be resolved only in a hospital under the strict control of a doctor because self-medicine can harm the patient due to an incompetent approach and inattentive choice of necessary medicaments.