There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment such as projects. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

In today’s world standardized testing is a controversial issue. Some people support that exams are a fair method in order to check the student ’s academic level, whilst others argue that they do not reflect the real children’s possibilities. First and foremost, standardized testing demonstrating student progress. Exams can show student improvement over time by taking the same tests over time. In addition to this, student test scores can also be easily compared to each other to show changes in progress. Revising older tests students could achieve high grades and exceed their knowledge. Consequently, exams force students to revise and study even in the last minute in order to pass the test. Additionally, another strong boon of examinations is that they are a metric for learning. The school gains a valuable metric so as to check the quality of its curriculum. With exams created and given by an independent organization, standardized test scores are useful because they come from a neutral source and give us data that we can compare to other independent schools across the globe. On the other hand, standardizes testing is not without its critics. Test scores can impact student’s confidence. It is easy to Interpret student’s score as the sole judgement of that student ’s ability. For example, there are many cases where students have demonstrated clear understanding within a subject or concept through various assessments, but aren’t as skilled at taking multiple choice tests. Yet, it can be discouragement for students and driven Change the form of the verb drive show examples them to give up and not try their best to accomplish high grades. Nevertheless, there are several ways to evaluate student learning without giving them a test. To clarify this, one of the aforementioned ways is presentations. Presentations give student a different type of ownership over the content, literally presenting their knowledge and skills. This assessment style requires students to synthesize and focus on the most important elements. Thus, students who struggle with examinations find this alternative approach much easier and as a result they thrive with this method. Taking everything into account, standardizes testing does help students to strengthen their knowledge, at some extent, yet there is definitely room for improvement. It is understandable for students to feel anxious sitting exams, because in some point they are, and that’s why changes should be done in the ways that educational system evaluating students learning as for them to be more optimistic and keeping study hard to accomplish their goals in the foreseeable futute.