Some people say that all popular TV entertainment programmes should aim to educate viewers about important social issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is thought in some communities that spectators must be trained about current concerns by all well-known television entertainment events about social problems. In my opinion, I partly agree with this view. On the one hand, popular programs on TV educating about important social matters have some great advantages. To begin with, educating society about the importance of social issues can create a better society. Nowadays, mass media has a great influence on the minds of citizens. Therefore, if all main programs showcase broadcasts about the reality of society, it will directly hit the viewer’s psyche. As a result, it will contribute to eradicating social problems and raising the awareness of citizens. Moreover, educating about social matters is also a way for citizens to protect themselves. If all news is about the same kind of social evil, everyone is more alert and more prepared to against it. For instance, children who have been taught about abduction on the box are more vigilant and have less contact with strangers. On the other hand, although teaching the public about social problems through audio is so great, it has some drawbacks. Firstly, it decreases people’s ability to entertain. Some public just watches television to reduce stress by watching movies or sports games. If all broadcasts on TV sets are educating about communal matters, it will increase the stress on people who live full of pressure all day. Secondly, teaching people on TV sets makes the variety of TV programs disappear. All television schedules will play with the same content. Viewers who watch audio sets with some plot will be bored about it unless there are entertaining programs. To conclude, despite certain merits of this change, the idea of turning the focus and aim of entertainment TV programs into informing viewers about social issues seems impractical, and I partly agree with this opinion.