More and more qualified people are moving from poor to rich countries to fill vacancies in specialist areas like engineering, computing and medicine. Some people believe that by encouraging the movement of such people, rich countries are stealing from poor countries. Others feel that this is only part of the natural movement of workers around the world. Do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words.

In this era of modernisation and globalisation, people are migrating from one nation to another to seek better job opportunities. Immigration and emigration has become a pivotal decision while structuring future aims. Prosperous nations provide healthy lifestyles, competitive wages and incentives to attract qualified youth from under-developed or developing countries. Some believe that immigration should be limited to retain talent in ones country while others believe that everybody has a freedom to take decision for them and it is first instinct to look for better workplace. I would initiate my argument by laying some light on the reasons of immigration. First and foremost reason is under estimating the talent. Many graduates may take up engineering courses, fashion designing courses and mechanical courses as well. Their community or locality has next to no opportunities in the respective fields. Eventually, they are forced to immigrate to flourished nations to demonstrate and manipulate their knowledge for the betterment. Impoverished nations, where the first priority is the provision of basic necessities like food, shelter and water, are incapable of providing competitive wages to the highly skilled workers. A recent example came from my hometown, Punjab, where the provincial government has increased the fees for MBBS (Bachelor of medicine and bachelor of surgery) course by 80% by giving meagre stipend. Although, fortunate graduates who manage to get a government job in medication, engineering and computing sectors are finding is enticing. However, the less fortunate ones who lack inadequate reference for these jobs are forced to migrate. The counterargument of retaining the nation’s talent is highly contentious issue. In order to make a nation strong and prosperous, the government should invest in young graduates as they are tomorrow’s leaders, businessmen, doctors and engineers. Nevertheless, it is every citizen’s responsibility to work tremendously for the prosperity of its nation and to bring it to the list of other developed countries. Therefore, they should contribute and aim tirelessly to achieve greater success for the country and its people as a whole. But without proper recognition and attractive wages from the government, loss of motivation inculcates among them. After a close analysis of both the arguments, I have come to a conclusion that it is entirely a person’s own preference and decision. The governmental actions can influence these decisions by giving equal opportunities and better pay scale to qualified individuals.