Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Multitudes believe that people are ultimately convinced by advertising, whilst others argue that nobody pays attention to it. This essay agrees that everyone has been persuaded by the ads at some point. On one hand, People believe that advertisements are successful at hypnotizing people’s minds to buy their products. In addition, there is ample evidence that mankind likes to buy items that are on trend. To illustrate, in contemporary times, some countries have the beauty standard that women should have white skin, resulting in the best selling of whitening skincare. Even though, in the former times, they used to believe that women who have tan skin are beautiful. One reason behind this was TV commercials for lotions used white skin actors, as a result, the public has changed what they value. On the other hand, others argue that adverting is ordinary and no one focuses on it. There are numerous advertisements around us, such as billboards, TV commercials, direct mail, and so on, hence, I am of the opinion that we have been persuaded by them unconsciously at some point. Ads, nowadays, are more tactical and subtle in persuading us. For example, when the public sees influencers wear brand-name clothes on social media, therefore they purchase following them while they do not realize that a large number of companies pay the influencers to advertise their products. In conclusion, people like to be on trend and we are still influenced by advertising but we do not know that it is advertising. As long as we buy their products, ads still work successfully.