You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement? You should write at least 250 words.

Citizens are enforced to follow policies and restrictions dictated by their countries so that, order and peace can be maintained. Failing to comply with such rules might result in chaos and it could also harm such society. This essay will discuss to what point this statement is wrong or accurate. To embark on, it must be pointed out that rules and laws have existed and favoured communities since the beginning of civilization. Those limits and regulations have helped to exert control and contributed to shaping, keeping order and improving life quality within territories. Namely, transit, health, the labour market, immigration, and real estate, just to name a few, are examples of regulated sectors where individuals are required to observe strict laws created to benefit them. To name an example, to drive a car you must obtain a licence and you are not allowed to consume alcohol when driving so that people are protected from accidents as well as the transit in the city runs efficiently and organized. On the other hand, human beings are willing to follow rules by nature, since remote times societies have organized themselves by designating tasks and rules to their members so they could function and contribute in a productive manner towards a common goal. For instance, in real estate, if governments do not impose regulations on rent and the housing market, landlords would set unreasonable prices and people couldn't afford to buy or rent a house. Therefore, individuals have to operate under certain boundaries to create a better society. Finally and to sum up, taking measures is necessary to keep the peace and order within countries and humankind. Societies must enforce their citizens to comply with the law and individuals should follow them to contribute to living in a better world for all of them.