In recent years, there has been a rise in the use of performance-enhancing drugs in sports. What are the consequences of doping for athletes? What measures should be taken to combat this issue? Angsa

Sportsmen have consumed notably increasingly energy-enhancing substances in order to perform well for the past years. However, they may risk their health conditions by being doped and harsher drug detection measures should reinforced to address the issue effectively. Driven by the desire to achieve heights in careers, sportsmen consume performance-enhancing substances, which lead to long-term health complications. Not only do sportsmen use up all energy supplies by stimulating their brains and muscles, but they also have a tendency to need similar drugs to function properly. Furthermore, they are apt to suffer from mental disorders, which anxiety and depression. For example, statistics thoroughly provided by the Sport and Health Association show that 62% of individuals, who utilise performance-enhancing supplements, are prone to encounter various detrimental effects of drugs after their mid-thirties and become permanently dependant on the medications. Therefore, measures of strengthening dope detection ought to be implemented to combat this concern. If legal implications are made by the superior authorities, athletes will be aware of problems that they face such as penalties or right-deprivation to participate in the next several sports events. Moreover, the advancements in the dope-detection technologies are to be made to prevent other illegal activities. For instance, athletes in Kazakhstan, after being harshly penalised and disqualified for doping violations at the Olympic Games in London 2012, ceased to commit illegal consumption during the next competitions. In conclusion, the consumption of substances has represented a growing trend in recent years. This may cause harmful consequences for the well-being of athletes and only through stricter regulations can this issue be eradicated.