In some cities, public parks and open spaces are being changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own fruit and vegetables. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In some metropolises, recreational spaces such as parks and open zones are getting transformed into agricultural areas for local people to plant their own fruit and vegetables. The essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of transforming public areas into gardens. Whilst acknowledging that there are some benefits, the essay will argue that the disadvantage of changing public areas into gardens overweigh the advantages. One of the benefits of changing public parks and open zones into gardens to grow fruits and vegetables is it will provide additional opportunities for individuals to earn money. During the formal Soviet Union in most cities, it was in practice growing fruits and vegetables in public parks and open spaces near houses. This way allowed most people to survive during the economic crisis. However, the phenomenon has some drawbacks, one of which is the transformation of parks and open zones into agricultural fields means individuals will not have a place to walk or practice some sports in open areas, hence it will bring some illnesses such as obesity. A recent survey by Focus shows most of the city residents go walking at least one time a day in parks. This gives the idea that public areas must be reserved for people’s health being. In conclusion, despite the fact that changing public spaces into gardens have some advantages, I believe that the drawbacks of the issue overweigh the benefits. This is due to the fact that the population in the cities need more space to do sports and go for a walk to avoid health-related problems.