Some students take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. Discus the advantages and disadvantages.

It is often argued that some students after finishing high school, prefer to work or travel for one year, instead of going directly to universities to complete their education. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this notion. At the outset, some benefits will be obtained if the students work before going to university Consequently, they will have enough money to cover all expenses of their studies and earn money which enables them to apply for university. For example, in Canada and Australia, the fees of universities are expensive, so; youth prefer working for a certain period to save the required money, which they will need during their studies. In addition to that, they will live independently, and their self-confidence will increase. Furthermore, their critical thinking will develop quickly, so; they can solve any problem independently. Even though some students get some advantages from their work for one year before entering college, they might experience some negative effects. Firstly, their graduation from universities will be postponed for a year compared to their colleagues of the same age. Secondly, some of them prefer to continue working in place of going to universities because they have a desire to earn money rather than studying, hence; they will be deprived of getting any university degree. Thirdly, if there is any work problem, it will affect them psychologically, and this problem may act as an obstacle for them to complete their study. In conclusion, although students who work before studying in institutes obtain some pros as we mentioned, there are some negative consequences, so; the candidates should be aware of them, and they should make a plan to avoid all of these issues.