Some young people look forward to a year of traveling a ‘gap year’ before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others, this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The youth is usually enthusiastic about having more free time after finishing high school or before getting an university degree. However, for others this is a time -consuming scheme. I tend to think that our time is priceless,especially when it comes to choosing a career path and continuing further studies; therefore, saving time is crucial for a better decision. Conversely, many students prefer to take a gap year rather than to attend university. On the one hand, taking a break from studies might positively influence students’ choice, as they can think deeper about their wishes and ambitions. Additionally, graduates have much more time for finding additional information about universities from other countries, and hence to select the one which suits best their solicitations and financial status. In my country, some students choose to take a one-year break in order to earn money for paying the university taxes or for acquiring new skills. On the other hand, a year off may interchange the individuals’ opportunities and abilities. Not only is it risky but also laborious. In this period of time pupils are used to getting a job, and usually end up finding new interests and forget about a postgraduate degree. In regard to this consequence, people might find the transition back to studies more difficult, just because they got used to their new routine. A relevant example is the medical field, where we have to study for ten years in a row, consequently it is prominent for students to start their career path as soon as they graduated from high school. The conclusion is that pupils should manage their time so it matches their opportunities and needs. For me, the best option is to omit a gap year, as it might interfere with my abilities and targets. It is crucial to measure our general knowledge, time and desires, in order to avoid huge mistakes.