Some young people look forward to a year of travelling , a ‘gap year ‘ , before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time . Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In recent years through high school graduates have become more popular trend to take a gap year for traveling instead of continuing proficient education levels directly after school.At the same time, a huge number of people believe that it is just meaningless and expensive waste of time. There are several reasons why humans support this idea. First of all, journey to different parts of the world provide person possibility to obtain new skills, knowledge, especially about real everyday life. Also, while travelling youngs may get acquainted with various cultures, nations and to realize the essence of people. Secondly, learning twelve years is exhausting occupation, for that juveniles should be rewarded and receive quality rest and so a gap year is a great option for this. A year of travelling will help graduates gain strength, prevent burnout and go to university or start working full of energy and enthusiasm. Moreover, almost a half of young individuals are not sure about their future job or work, and therefore, while a year journey after school they could choose their futher future occupation. For example, i read an article, where was written about a girl, who took a year after graduation. She spent her time not just travelling, but volunteering around the world. Thus during a year she made a great number of new acquaintances and finally decided on her profession, which indicates that a gap year went in her favor. On the contrary, this kind of experience has its own drawbacks. Firstly, travelling for a such long period requires significant investment. This means that parents will to pay a huge part of outlays because most students, even if they work, cannot cover all costs from own income. So it may become unnecessary financial burn for the person’s family. Secondly, on the one side a gap year is a pleasant opportunity for relaxation, however, on the other hand during this period baccalaureate holders can lose any vestige of motivation and become accustomed to an idle life. To conclude, after a long time of being drowned in test and exams, high school graduates should be given a chance to make a independent decision about taking a gap year. From my perspective, despite all the advantages discussed, I tend to believe that it is more beneficial not to take a gap year to preserve money, precious time and motivation.