Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a ‘gap year’, before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Today it is common for many teenagers to take a year of rest, named a gap year, before starting their work or study routine, explaining that it is helpful to widen their horizons. However, others believe, that gap year is an unnecessary period due to its waste of money and time. To begin with, taking a break after schooling can be caused by uncertainty of a person in his life and future. In this case, during the free year, teenagers are able to reflect on their future plans. For example, during the year people are trying themselves in a variety of hobbies and professions to realize what matches their preferences. Secondly, gap year is a perfect time for travelling and broadening horizons. Visiting new places contributes to leaving the comfort zone and, moreover, provides new impressions, which is also helpful for future decisions. For instance, even universities confirm the use of a gap year. On the other hand, it is important to understand, that it is not a year of inaction, and without a clear plan, teenagers are prone to waste a sufficiently long period of time. People, who are taking this free year, should realize the goal of this time. In addition, due to having a long rest can lead to loss of interesting in working or studying. In my opinion, such break time is an advantageous thing in organizing thoughts and gain unforgettable experience from traveling. In conclusion, it is indisputable that both taking a gap year and start working or studying immediately after school has their own advantages and disadvantages.