The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the rapidly developing modern society, science has impacted people’s lives dramatically. Some advocate that the priority of science is to make individuals’ lives better, and I completely agree with it. In this essay, I will discuss how deeply that science has affected us. To begin with, from the perspective of medicine, it is clear that science can definitely benefit the human race, and help extend life expectancy. In the past, our ancestors got sick and passed away easily owing to a lack of medical knowledge. For example, Black Death took a lot of people’s lives away, with the society being unaware of the illness that much. Another case of this point is Covid 19, which caused a billion of death cases around the globe. Thanks to the implementation of science in medicine, people can gain wider knowledge about how to tackle these grave problems, and are able to live a longer life. Furthermore, the contribution of science is not only to health issues but also to technology. With science, innovation in technology has been developing continuously, which is the main reason to make life more convenient. For instance, the transportation system makes citizens travel around the world easily. Moreover, smartphones not only enable people to communicate in convenience but also make the process of searching for information quicker than before. In conclusion, there are plenty of advantages of science, and it is essential for people to utilize them to increase our living standards. As a result, I agree with the suggestion that the prime goal of science is to improve people’s lives.