Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy for them. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

People are keeping pets since the early days of civilization till nowadays. Some argue that having pets is beneficial for children, while others believe it’s unhygienic and unsafe. This essay discusses both sides and provides evidence of why having them could be a good thing with proper care and precautions. A group of individuals believe pets are beneficial for a young’s physical and mental development. When they run around a cat or a dog, it helps improve their balance, strength, motor response, and cognitive ability and aid in overall growth. Having a suitable pet might teach a child valuable life lessons like love, care, and compassion, which they carry with them for the rest of their life. The other mass of people put forward that animals are a source of the disease that may transmit to young humans and those beasts may even attack their little ones causing serious injury. There are also numerous incidences around to support this argument. Pets, especially the exotic ones, like pythons, bison, alligators, and also regular ones like cats and dogs have been found to attack humans, resulting in fatal consequences. In conclusion, I believe having pets is a part of human life, some even can’t imagine one without. I myself have grown up with two cats, who were always around me from my toddler years to my early teenage. Apart from some minor scratches, admittedly, by my own faults most of the time, I’ve had a pleasant experience with those felines. The fatalities can be greatly reduced by having the right pets, vaccinating them and being vigilant when they are around children.