The rising cost and decreasing supply of fossil fuels such as oils and gas along with environmental concern, means that their continued use as our main source of energy is impractical and alternative sources must be found. The only realistic alternative is nuclear energy. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons and relevant examples for your answer.

Nuclear energy would be notoriously the only source for humankind to survive on because prolonged use of fossil fuels has proven to crumple our future dreams by our fellow scientists. While I strongly agree that fossil fuels could generate vast amounts of energy, I also believe that we should consider different forms of energy to gain what is there more than solely hooked up to these indigenous fossil fuels. To begin with, it is undeniable that nuclear energy is relatively harmless to the environment since the byproduct released by nuclear power plants is only steam which is completely green. On the contrary, burning of fossil fuels would primarily produce sulfur dioxide due to sulfur impurities in it; consequently, causing the rain to be acidic. Additionally, nuclear plants provide abundant amounts of energy as opposed to other alternatives, according to the concept of Physics, radioactive materials are long-lasting; especially uranium-235 as it has the longest half-life. To summarise, it is indisputable that nuclear sources are the current form of energy that we can rely on for many years to come. Despite all the benefits that are deemed beneficial of nuclear energy, its power plants are expensive and tedious to maintain. A construction site for nuclear power plants requires clear lands which could be quite a hefty expense. Once built, the power plant requires extreme safety measures which is an additional cost. These safety measures are taken to prevent nuclear radiation which could have detrimental effects on the environment. This is supported by the fact that nuclear energy has high penetrating power which can destroy living organism cells and leave radioactive after-effects which cause mutations in organisms. For example, the Chornobyl accident caused many casualties when a nuclear power plant failed to operate safely. Thus, even with, its advantages there are still many drawbacks to nuclear energy. In a nutshell, it is prominent that nuclear energy plays a part in our lives as it is conditioned to be the latest and yet the best form of renewable energy. Although having some minor issues, it is convincing enough to quote that nuclear energy is our safety blanket for the sake of our future.