Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Governments should spend proper money on railways and roads Now adays, governments all around the world are making efforts to build more railways, especially high-speed railways. Is that reasonable? In my opinion, the answer is it depends. If the railways which are being built in large cities, flat areas, that will be effective and economic, because the large population will make full use the the facilities and the convenient natural conditions will make trains run much faster. For example, China has spent lots of money on high-speed railways between Beijing and Tianjin, and between Beijing and Shanghai, which are busier and faster than other railways in China. One of the reasons is that these areas have bigger population and the land is much evener than other parts in the country. However, in the mountainous areas, roads might be more important and useful than railways. We all know that roads have uncomparable adventages than railways ——more convenient, more flexible, cost less, etc. In the western parts of China, such as Xinjiang, Tibet, Qinghai, which have broader lands or deserts and less people, roads seems to be more useful than railways and the government should spend more money on building more qualified roads. All in all, the governments decisions might have pros and cons, and the wisest decision is not to put all the money in one basket. So, the government should spend proper money both on railways and roads based on the situational conditions in different areas.