In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development has more advantages or more disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Technology has reached every corner of the world enabling people to ditch old-style paper money with online payments. The majority of folks are in favour of this advancement due to its number of merits. However, some people highlight its demerits first. In this essay, we will discuss both benefits and drawbacks of plastic money with a suitable conclusion. Initiating with the advantages, for many people internet banking is a relief as they do not need to carry cash everywhere. Nowadays, from street-side hawkers to hospitals, every place accepts payments using cellular phones, this has solved two major problems for every nation. Firstly, plastic money is eco-friendly, as currency needs trees to be cut and secondly, it has controlled the flow of black money nationally as well as internationally. For instance, India which was the first country to promote UPI payments has seen a drastic downfall in corruption in the last few years. On the contrasting side, there are a few disadvantages associated with this mode of payment. To begin with, many folks especially elders do not feel comfortable dealing with modern technologies such as smartphones and online banking. Probing ahead, this development has given birth to many frauds such as web scams and phishing attacks, making people lose their hard-earned money in a blink of an eye due to their naiveness. To cite an example, my mother almost got caught in a situation where she was asked to scan a code by an unknown authority, however, she immediately reported the same to the police. To conclude, preferring online payments have become popular in many nations considering it is all white money and environment friendly. Nonetheless, this development has an equal number of flaws such as cyber crimes and acquaintance with knowledge. I believed the aforementioned points are strongly supporting my viewpoint.