Some people think that governments should invest more in public services instead of wasting money on arts such as music and painting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some people that spending money on arts such as music or painting is a waste of money. While I accept that the government should invest national budgets in other services, I also believe that arts play an important role in the culture of any nation, therefore, it is quite fair to allocate funds to preserve and develop arts. On the one hand, I think that governments should spend money on essential sectors such as medical services and education which bring a wide range of benefits to society. In many countries, there are thousands of people who do not have the opportunity to access basic education and healthcare services, therefore, government officials, who are elected by the public, need to be obligated to take care of their citizens by providing financial support to meet the demands of citizens in public facilities. On the other hand, arts are part of a culture and over time become the identity of a nation. It is necessary for governments to preserve cultural and traditional values and invest more money to develop this potential field. There are thousands of tourists, who are attracted by masterpieces of paintings, and visit museums and galleries annually. This contributes to boosting the tourism industry, improving local living standards and developing the national economy. Furthermore, music plays an important role in people’s mental life. It is not only a means of entertainment but also a magnificent power to heal mental ills. In conclusion, although investing money in other sectors is important, It is necessary for the government to provide financial assistance to enhance the quality of life and develop the tourism industry.