Nowadays the differences between countries are becoming less evident because people follow the same media. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Most scholars claim that in today’s interconnected world, many people pursue the same television programs, social applications, and fashion or even have the same eating habits. From my point of view, it does more benefits than harms to the society. In the paragraphs to come, I will examine both merits and drawbacks of this view before reaching a conclusion. One evident benefit of using similar media is that it would enable better communication between countries. In other words, if everyone uses the same media there would be greater chances to know more people and find more friends not only in their countries but also all over the world. For instance, Instagram is an application that is a platform to share information, pictures, and videos for different purposes. Sharing pictures and content through Instagram both increases the level of knowledge and informs many people about different cultures and lifestyles. In addition, it could reduce barriers to communication that occurred from a distance, money, and political limitations since there is no charge for joining and using this application. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to having only one global media and following the same programs. It would mean that all of the cultures combine with each other and there is no diversity in the future world. Consequently, there is no logical reason for tourism and visiting different places in the world, life will become more uniform, and mental diseases like depression will increase so fast. Moreover, harmful and false information has more opportunity to spread among people. To put it in other words, one influencer may share a detrimental habit that seems really constructive and encourage many people to imitate it which results in irreparable damages. To conclude, while there are plus points to using the same media in the world, too much would be lost as a result. Maintaining local cultures, tourism, and diversity in the future world should be prioritized to ensure a rich world heritage for future generations.