Some people think that public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free to the people who use it. Do you agree or disagree ?

In recent years, there is an increasing number of people who have a belief that the government should allocate more fundings for public transport facilities so that residents can use it without extra fees. From my point of view, I completely disagree with this opinion, albeit positive to some extent. On the one hand, free usage of civil transport is partly beneficial for two main reasons. To begin with, the main benefit is environmentally friendly. Indeed, the majority of pollution in big cities is the result of exhaust fumes and emissions from cars and motorbikes. Encouraging residents to use costless communal transportation would therefore contribute to the lower rate of individual vehicles usage, which will make urban areas less polluted. Another attractive merit is that residents who are in financial struggles will have an opportunity to use free transportation instead of spending money on fuel for their private vehicles. Therefore, costless civil transport is generally suitable for those who want to save money for other purposes. On the other hand, there are several disadvantages involved with the provision of no-fee public conveyance. There is a fact that making public transport costless would impose a financial burden on the government, especially in densely populated countries. The economy of India, for example, is greatly affected by the reduction in price of using communal conveyance, which nearly pushed other investment of this country into delay. Another drawback of this trend is that citizens will bear the brunt of health problems if transportation is widely provided for free. A prime example for this would be the Covid-19 pandemic, this event laid a fear of suffering from respiratory health diseases while using the civil transport system. Hence, encouraging people to use city transport is more practical instead of free provision. In conclusion, although costless communal transportation offers some merits, the demerits of financial burdens and health problems are undeniable. Therefore, I personally believe that public transport should not be funded by the government so that residents could freely use it.