Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a 'gap year'; before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Young people tend to choose travelling for a year as a chance to broaden their horizons, before beginning work or pursuing higher academic studies. For other individuals, they consider that a year-long span of travelling is a time-consuming activity. However, I strongly believe that a long period of time spent outside the country would benefit young people to understand their preferences and discover themselves. Moreover, the chance of expanding personal horizons is a huge factor that can determine whether or not a person chooses the right life path. Firstly, travelling forces rapid personal growth. Handling logistics, budgeting, navigating language barriers, and solving unexpected problems builds core competencies and emotional resilience that standard schooling rarely teaches. For example, some articles point out the importance of a few months' break after academic pressure for the purpose of being able to take responsible actions for a better outcome. Secondly, due to a lack of time management, academic stress, and lack of motivation, some individuals opt for a longer period of time to rethink their own plans by exploring history and a variety of cultures, which can influence their critical point of view. For instance, some studies suggest that students who have finished high school tend to explore the world and find new opportunities for self-development before deciding to pursue university or a career. In conclusion, individuals need to take a one-year break after completing an academic course. Even though visiting other countries contributes to self-development and growth, I tend to agree that overcoming and handling daily difficulties and discovering the inner self are important before heading to work or university.