Stress related illnesses are becoming increasingly common. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

In recent times, reports of individuals suffering from ailments that are linked to stress have significantly increased. This essay will discuss the two (2) main causes of stress-related sicknesses including inadequate manpower and longer working hours. This essay will also suggest ways to combat these issues like employing more competent persons and creating a sustainable work-life balance. The corporate world lacks enough people to carry out the required duties in the workplace. Furthermore, fewer people are able to equally manage their duties at the office and at home effectively. According to the World Health Organisation (WHO), 74% of the world’s population is ageing; this is affecting the workforce at large. With an increasingly ageing population, employees are now tasked with doing much more than were required to do in the past. As a result of this, staff members usually have to struggle overtime and on weekends making it impossible for them to have a life outside of their jobs. To alleviate these difficulties, companies should look into hiring more qualified individuals as this will greatly reduce the suffering of their staff members. Also, allowances to enable employees to work from home should be made. For example, during the COVID-19 pandemic, a lot of offices resulted to hosting meetings online and tasking their workers with deliverables which had a feasible timeline. It was gathered that they were more productive this way. To conclude, two reasons why many individuals now fall sick as a result of being stressed is firstly being unable to balance having employment and life. Secondly, not enough people in the general workforce. Increased employment and permitting folk to remotely are methods discussed in this article that I strongly believe will address these issues.