Social media helps people to keep in touch with friends and stay on top of news and events. Do you think the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media aids individuals to connect with friends and be updated on information and events. While there are some drawbacks associated with this means of communication, I believe the main benefits are more substantial. On the one hand, a potential advantage of social media is linking every person with others and people can be informed of events that happen around the world. Social media such as Whatsapp and Instagram help the public to meet and talk with friends and other people who are not able to be near each other. Also, the population sharing photos and information about different events in every country bring about raising public awareness about the news. Another perceived benefit is that social media became a space for providing more job opportunities and income. For example, citizens can offer their products and services on social media to get the attention of their followers. On the other hand, a primary disadvantage of social media is that at present, crimes are rising at an alarming rate, especially cybercrime. It is quite difficult to distinguish between genuine profiles and fake ones. The hackers hack the account and may misuse the data shared on social media. the population are habitual in sharing their recent activities on social media. Such information works as a golden opportunity for robbers. In total, the disadvantages of such technology may have a broader reach to the nation. In conclusion, it is true that social media would have disadvantages under certain circumstances. However, in my view, its benefits due to communication easily between the population and offering job opportunities outweigh the disadvantages.