Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Many in the public consider being self-employed more attractive than working for others. There are several reasons for this trend, with the opportunity to receive higher income being a key factor. However, there are also disadvantages, such as financial insecurity and work-life imbalance. The main advantage of being self-employed is that it enables you to be successful as there is a potential for higher earnings. Unlike traditional employment, where a manager generally determines income and can be limited, self-employed folk can make more based on their efforts and creativity. For example, in my home country, Norway, there is no longer a fixed salary for working as a solopreneur, including bloggers. Instead, their salary depends on the services they offer. Another cause why self-employment is attractive is the sense of having autonomy. Self-employed workers do not have managers whom they must follow their instructions. This freedom provides them with greater flexibility in their work performance. To give a clear example, my brother who is self-employed has various properties in the UK as a result of being self-employed. Despite these advantages, there are some drawbacks. Self-employed communities tend to work longer hours. This is because of the flexible working hours which can result in delays to deadlines. To illustrate, my friend, who is self-employed often works in the afternoons and weekends. This can be problematic as it could have a detrimental impact on work-life balance for him. In conclusion, the idea of working for yourself is appealing to many. The main reasons are the potential to become wealthy and successful by earning considerable money, and the flexible working hours related to being self-employed. But there are some drawbacks to consider, including the potential for financial instability and imbalance between work and life