Excessive consumption of sugar causes many health related issues. Some people believe the government should control population’s sugar intake while others think people themselves should be responsible for their sugar eating habits. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, some foods and beverages which contain carbohydrates should be controlled to maintain a healthy life. There are many opinions that the government should take more attention to, while others view that it depends on how each person should mitigate their risks. I will explain in this essay with both views and reasonable arguments. To begin with, as the main authority on the consumption of the country, the government has the power to regulate and set the limit of the substance on some products before they are eaten by some customers. For example, in Indonesia, the Ministry of Health has a plan with the Ministry of Finance to give more charges on several meals and drinks with sugar through the tax rate. This policy aligns with the national development goals to produce high quality and welfare for human resources, then it would reduce the cost recovery for some diseases, like obesity. Hence, the budget for health subsidies could be reallocated to other strategic projects. Meanwhile, the choice of products supplied by some factories in the market will satisfy the customer's demand. For example, Tropicana Slim, one of the brands has launched customized fewer sugar packages to fulfil the perspective of maintaining healthy food with calories. Moreover, it depends on how people choose the combination on the menu and maintain the safety level of carbohydrates to prevent worse illness. Because of this treatment, the result will reflect a better approach to implementing a healthy quality diet for people. In conclusion, the fact that controlling sugar could be from the national authority and each person should tackle the challenge to mitigate the risk of their consumption behaviours. Therefore, it is clear that nutritious food should be considered as the national development goal which aligns with the quality of life of human resources. In the future, it will be the next threat to define what would be the complementary material to attract more customers through the healthy lifestyle campaign.