More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in foreign countries. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Nowadays, study abroad is becoming increasingly popular. For many, especially young adults, the chance to spend some time overseas looks very attractive. However, there are both cons and pros to deciding to do this. This essay will discuss some reasons why studying abroad is so popular and possible challenges to overcome. Let's begin by looking at the advantages of studying away. One of the main positives of it is that it allows students to combine both getting a degree and travelling which, by the way, boarders their horizons. There is a good chance to meet students and professors from different cultural backgrounds and learn to communicate and be a team with them. As a result, it can make someone more grounded as a person. Secondly, studying overseas might lead to a better quality of education and sometimes it is even for a less amount of money. Thousands of youngsters from Belarus, Russia and Ukraine move to Poland, Chezh Republic or Germany to get an education and diploma that are recognized all over the world and the quality is much better than in their own countries. In addition, by living in another country, they can gain qualifications and language skills, which may improve their promotion prospects in the future. Turning to the other side of the argument, culture shock and different standards applied in foreign universities might be a big factor. Many students struggle to get used to a new system and have difficulties overcoming the language barrier. This often leads to depression and in some cases to failing exams and dropouts. Another issue is that some degrees might not be recognized as legal in some countries. For example, even if the student studies medicine in Europe they still must confirm their qualifications in the USA, which is quite difficult. Hence, they must choose wisely what to learn abroad. To sum up, living and getting a degree in another country is never easy. People need to weigh up the pros and cons and the language barrier. Anyway, this will be a good opportunity that is worth trying.