Task 2: Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In today's era, most people prefer to use alternative medicines and treatments instead of consulting their regular doctors. It could be due to the widespread knowledge which is available through the Internet although, I believe it has more negative impacts than positive ones because it could lead to severe health problems if any mistakes are made. Firstly, there are many individuals who are opting for medicines which can be easily created by anyone, due to how expensive ordinary medicines are in local pharmacies which takes a huge toll on the financial budget of a household. However, this alternative can have repercussions, if not prescribed correctly and it could lead to even more spending of money. For instance, many people ignore the early signs of a heart attack like chest pain and to get relief from that pain they make an ayurvedic concocted drink. Which eventually leads them to an operational bed in a hospital, where it gets threatening to their life. Moreover, there are more negative impacts to it, as a huge number of senior citizens consider everything which is on the internet to be correct and authentic. It has led to more fake videos of medical treatments because these kinds of videos get a lot of views and an ample amount of money is been made by these fake individuals who pretend to be a doctor. For example, there are hundreds of videos suggesting what to do while having a joint problem and they will tell to press some hypertension spots around the body, this has created a lot of rumours and hindrances among individuals and led to different kinds of health problems. Therefore, consulting a doctor is more beneficial to people than experimenting with something which most people don't know if it's legitimate. To conclude, As Information is available through the Internet growing number of people consider themselves doctors and try to cure themselves with some alternatives, which eventually leads them to more detrimental health problems and thus I believe it has more negative development.