Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is believed by some people that getting a degree in university is a guarantee of hiring for a prestigious position in the future. Others, however, argue that networking skills are more crucial in a career. In my opinion, completing a university is better due to the chance of acquiring a qualification in a specific field. On the one hand, people with developed soft skills are able to lead a team. They are quite experienced in making the right decisions that consider all employees’ perspectives. For example, Bill Gates left his university in his first year, but still was able to build a company with thousands of workers and unbelievable income because of his abilities to socialise. On the other hand, universities offer specific knowledge in a chosen field of work. Undergraduate programs prepare the students for their future jobs, conducting lectures, master classes and internships. Medical staff is a prime example of workers for whom university education is mandatory. In my opinion, completing only a school program cannot make a person qualified enough to have a good job. To conclude, although some people value soft skills more than specialised education, I believe that getting a diploma can make a person more competitive in career development.