Some people feel that learning a foreign language is an essentiael component of a child's education. Others feel that leaning a foreign language is often a waste of time that can be better spent on learning about technology and other more vocational subjects. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is an ever-increasing use of foreign languages, such as English and Chinese, in the world. It is often argued that this is a positive development, while others disagree and think it will be more useful studying technology and practical job-related subjects. I am in favour of learning languages rather than an occupational practice. Firstly, it is clear that foreign languages have provided learners with access to more information than only one native linguistic ability. For instance, communication with people from overseas could enable students to comprehend diverse cultural, technological and social differences. Furthermore, generally, it is said that the younger, the better to learn a new language in order to naturally obtain accurate enunciation, memorisation, and adaptation. It is therefore agreed, learning other languages lets pupils broaden their perspectives. However, many disagree and feel that technology and occupational class-works give people more valuable skills for their future. If practical education was provided at school, students could start working immediately and effectively with less supervision. There are ever more demands for skilled workers in the world. Despite this, acquiring these professional skills is still possible through interpreting foreign languages, such as studying abroad and taking internship programmes. In fact, this is by far a more beneficial way to gain vocational proficiency as there is a range of information from different countries. In conclusion, the benefits of learning foreign languages at schools allow students to tap into unlimited sources of educational opportunities, while some still feel that people should be wary of this phenomenon and not allow a foreign language education as a priority subject. However, as long as we are careful to keep in mind the importance of educational curricula for the young, providing a subject of a foreign language has a variety of advantages.