It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct. There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. Do you agree or disagree?Ar

In the history of the earth, there have been many extinctions of animals. Based on this fact, many people argue that this is a natural phenomenon and humanity should not be concerned about it. Although indeed, this is a typical feature of nature, I do not agree that the international community should let everything go too far. According to many scientists, especially evolution theorists, in the history of the earth, there have been six remarkable extinction periods. The majority of them originated from natural phenomena, For instance, about 260 million years ago, dinosaurs and other enormous reptiles got extinct because of the clash between the earth and an asteroid. It has become the most well-known extinction period among scientists and the public. Another noticeable example is the Ordovician Mass Extinction, which happened about 200 years before the disappearance of dinosaurs. Many biologists indicate that cooling climate was the main cause of this extinction. It is certain that, many extinction periods happened due to natural phenomena. Nevertheless, also according to the scientific community, the world is experiencing the sixth period and unlike the previous, this is the extinction resulted in by human activities. Human beings have impacted to the global climate in a negative way through global warming, affecting the biological features of a great deal of animal species. Furthermore, overhunting has had problematic contribution to the decreases of animal populations. It is undeniable that humans have been affecting the ecology in a concerning way. If there are no punctual and effective solutions, another period of mass extinction will be clear. Consequently, humanity can receive detrimental effects of what it has sowed. One of them is people can lose the sources that can maintain food security in many communities. A case in point is dodo, which was extinct in the 17th century because of the overhunting of Europeans. According to plenty of historical accounts, its meat was delicious. That meant if dodo was still apperant today, the international agriculture could have an alternative for chicken, duck and goose. Another possible consequence is humans could devastate biological balance. For instance, thylacine, or Tasmanian tiger, was one of the main species in Australia until there were many campaigns killing them in the late 19th century and early 20th century, and it was declared extinct in 1936. One of the prey of this marsupial species was emu, a flightless and huge bird. Due to the decrease of thylacine, the population of this bird increased and these animals started destroying crops. This trend caused an issue for the Australian government, so it commenced the Emu War, a campaign of killing emu. The result of this war was humans were defeated by birds. If the population of thylacine was retained, politicians would not have to get fed up and then fail when handling emus. In conclusion, in the past, animal extinction was a natural phenomenon. Nevertheless, at present, it is a human trend. If humans do not restrict their own activities, they could lose the alternatives for their agriculture and devastate biological balance.