In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In some specific countries, youngsters are motivated to work or travel for a year between completing high school and beginning their graduate studies. Taking a break is always essential for your mental health and career, but sometimes it has drawbacks. To begin with, taking a break from your education and doing work for almost one year will affect your ability to understand lectures and mainly memorising courses, because of disconnection from education for a long period. Moreover, education is an essential part of our lives. Some people used to end education after their high school because sometimes the company pays a handsome salary to a particular undergraduate working. For instance, most undergraduates in Asian countries used to do a job after high school to gain some experience mainly in call centres and in restaurants but very few of them want to study in universities. Furthermore, often taking a break also have some advantages. Students used to study continuously for 12 years and not have a huge break from their studies. This can build pressure on their minds and cause many health problems. Travel can help them to rejuvenate from their hectic schedules of life. For example, in Pakistan, most of the students usually take a long break from their studies to revive themselves by travelling. To conclude, it has always been a problem for students to decide whether or not they should take a break from their studies because it has both, positive and negative impacts on their education.