Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many are of the view that ex-convicts get transformed into good people in society, and it is usually suggested that such individuals are the ideal ones to educate young adults on the negative effects of being involved in illegal activity. I totally disagree with the statement because teenagers may not listen to a prisoner's idea and also other adults like teachers, parents, and the police should rather talk to teenagers. Experience, they say is the best teacher; many believe that an individual who had gone through a situation gives a lecture about it. However, teenagers might not trust a prisoner who has once committed a crime. They may not believe anything they say because they are seen to be bad citizens for doing something illegal. For instance, the teen may be of the notion that why should he or she follow advice from someone who could not obey rules but decided to break them, this might make the teenagers not heed any advice from a past committer of crime, therefore, I disagree that they are the best people to speak to teenagers about the side effects of engaging in crimes. On the other hand, teenagers can learn about illegal actions and their effects from various sources aside from lawbreakers who might even pose some risks to people because one can not tell if they have indeed changed in a positive way. I believe it is safe for the police to talk to teenagers as they also have experience with crimes and their drawbacks. For example, a seminar can be organized in school for students to be educated on “the life of a criminal” where they can acquire some knowledge. Additionally, teachers and parents can educate teenagers as well.  In conclusion, I disagree that people who were once criminals should educate teenagers about their past experiences to prevent them from committing crimes because it might not be effective, but parents can take up that role.