You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Sometimes it could be difficult to find a new job after long-term unemployment, which could lead to the government having to support individuals for a longer period of time. Some people believe that these job -seekers should be put to use through voluntary work as a token of appreciation for the nation's good will. I stronlgy agree with this statement as bolstered below. There might be some reasons why those who have been out of of a job for prolonged periods may be reluctant to unpaid commuity work. Firstly, the time invested affects that which could be well spent applying for specialised jobs or furthering their training. Moreso, some believe that this could further derail their careers. For exapmple, they might lose the zeal for their skilled training while taking up an unpaid tangential job, which will contribute nothing to their job path. However, I strongly believe reverse is the case for the latter sentence. In the first place, voluntary work is deemed as work experience, and therefore could be the the boost that one's CV might desperately need. Secondly, giving back to the community is a show of good faith and gratitude for all the support the governement has rendered. Finally, community service could keep both body and mind occupied, which not only prevents unnecessary idleness, but could be the inspiration one needs to make a significant change in their career. In summary, taking part in voluntary work could be extremely instrumental for someone who has been out of job for a long time, while also being a appreciative gesture for the society's and goverment's support through their ordeal. It should be vehemently championed, as it brings a myriad of advantages which overshadow the disadvantages.