Some people think that english will be the only language to be spoken globally. what are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

English is undoubtedly one of the most spoken languages in the world. As a result of more and more learning English nowadays, some people believe that someday all humans on this earth will only speak this language. This essay will discuss what I believe to be the benefits and drawbacks of having English as the only language spoken by humans. There are a few advantages of having English as the only tool to communicate. First, it will strengthen the bond of all people living in this world. Because we speak the same language, we will feel more united and equal. Secondly, if all people understand English, it will enhance access to better education and resources. Indeed, a huge range of referenced Books are printed in English. For Example, I studied nursing, and most of my resources are in English or books that have been translated into Indonesian from English books. Despite the benefits mentioned above, there would be many negative effects stemming from having English as the only language we speak. First and foremost, hundreds or even thousands of other languages will disappear. As a result, people will lose their culture and identities. Indeed, language is not only a tool to communicate but also a culture that should be valued and proud of. Another disadvantage of a single- language world would be a loss of diversity. We now live in a very diverse world. This makes each of us unique and valuable. Losing such huge beautiful diversity simply would be the biggest mistake of the human race. In conclusion, having English as the only language spoken by the human race would make us more united and equal. However, the drawbacks of speaking English as the only language are much more significant. Humans will lose their identity and culture. Thus, disconnecting us from who we were.