Many things can influence the academic achievement and emotional growth of a student. In this regard, peers have more of an impact than teachers do. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is a common belief that classmates have a more enormous impact on students' school performance and emotional development than their teachers. However, I firmly disapprove of this opinion because only teachers can give pupils comprehensive studying courses and teach them how to resolve their problems in life. To begin with, it is undoubtable that teachers are superior to classmates in giving lectures to students. To illustrate, teachers are usually well-trained before they get into the workforce, as a result, they have a lot of skills in educating other people, especially pupils. Therefore, they can easily convince students and explain to them plenty of sophisticated information that facilitates their knowledge. For example, in such a complex subject as math, without a helping hand from teachers, students would hardly understand the details of the lesson and they will be confused about what to do. In addition, teachers also take responsible for demonstrating to their pupils how to deal with the obstacles to which they may face up in their lifetime. At school, apart from the academic lessons, children are also taught some life skills that are really effective for them. It is clear that demerits in life are unavoidable, however, if students know how to struggle with their issues, they will easily overcome them and head for the better. According to some recent researches, children who are fully involved in a 12-year studying program have a higher tendency to achieve success than those who drop out at an early age. That is because they are mentally equipped with the skills they learned from their teachers. To conclude, although peer is an essential factor in student's school life, teacher still has a greater influence on students because of their indispensable contribution to their development.