Public places are increasingly being monitored with video cameras in many cities which are intended to reduce crimes, however many individuals are concerned that these developments might violate their privacy rights. Do the advantages of this installed security surveillance exceed its drawback? To answer this question, this essay will evaluate whether or not this development is of more significance by discussing both positives and negatives aspects.

Public places are increasingly being monitored with video cameras in many cities which are intended to reduce crimes, however many individuals are concerned that these developments might violate their privacy rights. Do the advantages of this installed security surveillance exceed its drawback? To answer this question, this essay will evaluate whether or not this development is of more significance by discussing both positives and negatives aspects. Certainly there are benefits related to this security surveillance. Firstly, one of the significant advantages of this progressively presence of video cameras is the prevention of crime in the city. Video cameras, for instance, can act as a deterrent to the potential criminals which in turn may help reduce the crimes rates in the public area. Additionally, surveillance security cameras can aid in identifying and capturing criminals, providing valuable evidence for investigation and increasing the chances of apprehending offenders. This could contribute to creating a safer environment for individuals and communities. What is more, not only can video cameras be instrumental in monitoring public places, but also in alerting authorities to potential threats or emergencies, resulting in more rapid response and possibly saving lives in critical situations. In contrast, there are numerous concerns on this development. The increased security surveillance system in countries where human rights are ignored, for example, the constant monitoring of public space raises questions about the extent to which individuals are being observed and filmed without their consent, potentially fringing upon their right to privacy. Moreover, implementing and maintaining this extensive surveillance system can be costly which divert resources from other important public services while their effectiveness in preventing crime is not absolute. In conclusion, in spite of some disadvantages, in my personal viewpoint, security surveillance systems provide more benefits in our society today than harm, ranging from criminals deterrence, identifying and capturing perpetrators as well as alerting authorities in case of threat and emergencies which have profoundly kept our societies safe. Lastly, I believe the crime and the other illegal activities would definitely go down and enhance public safety should the government and/or private companies deploy this surveillance only for legitimate purposes, with safeguard to protect privacy rights.