Some people believe that children that commit crimes should be punished. Others think the parents should be punished instead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It has been a point of contention as to whether the justice system should penalize an under-aged child or instead punish the parents for it. While there are cases in which parents ought to be held accountable for their children's actions, in the majority of instances the one who committed the atrocity is to be brought to justice. There are cases to consider where parents are directly responsible for their offspring's wrongdoings and as a result, should be punished for that. Many studies have illustrated the influence of bad parental behaviours such as severe torcher or lack of paying adequate attention to their kids, resulting in the manifestation of criminal action in their future adulthood. For instance, the majority of drug abusers confess the role of mistreatment by at least one of their parents in their addiction. By contrast, the positive influence of family members is often associated with success and improvement and forming a powerful will towards not pursuing a criminal future. However, I would argue that most of these underaged criminals are behaving evilly because of reasons other than their parents. Most of the time, in spite of parents ' efforts towards cultivating a person who is a law-abiding citizen, their attempts would be undermined by external forces like peer pressure or the influence of society or simply a violent trait. As a case in point, the majority of murderers who committed the crime due to behaving angrily often pointed out their temperament as a characteristic that caused the incident. Hence, there are many factors that can cause a crime, which can not be as a result of a parent's actions. In conclusion, while family's influence on individuals can lead to criminal behaviour in some cases, I believe that children's attitudes and inside traits as well as societal impacts are the main drivers of committing crime making it reasonable for the justice system to merely punish the felon.