In some cities, the numbers of tourists seem to be overwhelming. Why is this happening? What are the effects of this on individuals and society?

Nowadays, tourism is experiencing a significant increase due to the developments in technology and transport systems such as cheaper and more comfortable airlines. This allows people to travel more easily, and in some cities, it causes the population of visitors to become too high. The origins of this issue seem to be based on several areas, 2 of which are as follows, and have a number of positive and negative effects on individual as well as societal levels. To begin with, 2 reasons may well explain why this issue has occurred. Firstly, the transport systems are really improved, and aeroplanes with a low cost bring the population to their destinations all around the world in the shortest time. Also, the introduction of natural, historical and cultural attractions of different cities on TV programs or the Internet and social media sites like Instagram have encouraged many nations to travel to these cities. For example, the advertisements shown every day in TV programs for Antalya in Turkey have turned this city into one of the tourist hubs in the Middle East, where millions of people travel to this city every year. This phenomenon, however, can affect folk and their communities both positively and negatively. First and foremost, the increase in the population of tourists has created many jobs for natives. In other words, hospitality jobs such as tourism services and job positions in hotels are popular with the local public tourist destinations. But raised prices in such areas, caused by the presence of tourists, have made life more expensive for them. Another possible consequence is the loss of urban peace by noise pollution and heavy traffic. Downtowns around which tourist attractions are mostly located are densely crowded and noisy and have severe traffic congestion. In conclusion, the number of tourists in some cities is increasing due to some factors like the improvement of transport systems and advertisement, which can have differing impacts on citizens and the society they live in.