Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foregin country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There are different opinions regarding learning a foreign language in addition to the mother tongue. Many people argue that a new language should be learned if one plans to work or travel abroad. However, others and I believe that there are more important reasons for learning a foreign language. For tourists, knowing the language of their destination can make their journey more enjoyable and memorable. They can learn more and discover significant and marvellous places while being able to communicate with the local community, even if it’s at a basic level. On the other hand, for workers, the situation is different, if they want to advance in their careers, they should strive to learn technical terms specifically in their field. Despite the widespread use of English, there are still countries where people prefer to speak their native language. For example, In Montreal of Canada, knowing French is essential for finding a suitable job. The second group of people have even more reasons for learning a new language. They want to have a deeper understanding of other cultures, so be able to speak and understand them easily. They prefer to read novels, and poems in their original language or watch movies without subtitles or dubbing. There are many words, idioms, and proverbs that cannot be accurately translated. Although online translators have improved, they often have a generic accent that cannot compare. In conclusion, I believe that learning more languages can open the gate to a more specific understanding of the world. Therefore, if someone has the time and ability to do so, they should learn more languages.