In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, young people are no longer interested in reading newspapers and watching the news on television. This essay shall analyze some causes of the depletion of newspaper readers. This essay shall also elicit some viable solutions to encourage youngsters to follow the traditional way of reading news. There are a plethora of reasons why newspapers are not read by young people in many countries. To commence with, with the advent of technology, many countries have witnessed a change in their young generation. Youth are adopting new and modern ways of reading the news. To put it in other words, the majority of adults, nowadays, have smartphones with 24 hours of internet access and it is easy to download news applications on it. With the help of these applications and social media, they can update themselves with the latest news at any time of the day. Moreover, young people believe reading a newspaper is an outdated fashion which is meant for elderly people only. In fact, not only young people, the advancement of technology is turning many elderly people into silver surfers. However, there are various possible solutions to counteract this emerging problem. This issue could be minimized with the joint efforts of parents and teachers. While a child is young, parents and teachers should encourage children to read the newspaper as it is believed that it is the most authentic source of news. Another possible solution could be, news channels should present full coverage of important news covering all the aspects including sports, movies, current affairs, etc. that might elicit young people to watch the news on television. To conclude, there are numerous reasons for young people not reading newspapers including social media and mobile phone news applications. Yet, they could be encouraged to follow the long-established method of getting news by creating creative content by TV channels.