23.Some people think the main purpose of schools is to turn the children into good citizens and workers rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Write an essay with no less than 250 words.

Many parents argue harshly that schools are more likely to educate their children to become competent employees and law-abiding citizens who contribute to the country, rather than to think independently and critically about their own lives and aspirations. From my point of view, I strongly disagree with this perspective. There are several reasons why I object to teaching students how to prioritize the training of various workers and residents. First of all, it is obvious that the diversity of abilities and knowledge that students receive at school provides them with more opportunities than they can obtain on their own, especially for some poor students. These include becoming exchange students to study abroad and participating in practice. Activities to enrich their experience. Secondly, the government strongly urges schools to pay more attention to colourful campus life and competitions in order to tap into the multifaceted potential of more students. In the end, I believe that students can use the lessons taught as a springboard to learn more about the world. Especially in the fields of philosophy, mathematics, art, music, morality, and science. On the other hand, educational institutions not only teach children how to acquire more knowledge but also provide excellent employees for the future development of the country and the government. However, it is undeniable that excessively forcing students to be good citizens may have adverse effects on society. A telling example is the general mental and physical problems that people can develop under the stress of overload. For instance, some college entrance examinations in many countries have caused countless students to stay up all night, eventually leading to death. Therefore, schools should prioritize the development of individuals and address the issue immediately. To sum up, while some overcompetitive schools tend to produce students with excellent academic performance, it is important for authorities and schools to first develop students as independent individuals before teaching them all kinds of things.