WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In countries like Britain, when someone gets old, they often go live in an old age home with other old people. These homes provide all types of care facilities like nurses to look after them. As a result, there is an additional spend which needs to be taken care of. In my opinion, both government and families should take the burden of this expense. Firstly, citizens of any nation contribute to its growth and development for about forty years in their prime of life. For example, a government official would start his duty at the age of twenty-two and would go on working for the next forty years before retiring. Therefore, adding to the betterment of his country and people. Furthermore, he would end up paying income tax and other kinds of taxes adding to the nation’s economy. Hence, government is responsible to take care of its citizens either directly through pension or indirectly through the expense of the care. Secondly, parents take care of their child from the beginning of their lives be it through healthcare, good education or personal development for at least fifteen to twenty years. Hence, it becomes a moral responsibility of the child to take care of their parents whenever in need. For instance, in India it is a tradition for elderly people to stay in children’s houses and all day-to-day needs are taken care of. Thus, it is a moral responsibility to take care of old-age parents. To summarise, it becomes the responsibility of the government and families alike to pay for care homes making lives easier for senior citizens. The share of expenses can vary in each country. However, this responsibility should be taken by both parties.