Some people think that the Olympic Games can bring nations together. Others, however, think that it is a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Write an essay with no less than 250 words.

Recently, public opinion has been divided over the importance of the annual Olympic event held in certain countries. Some people see the Olympics as a means to bring peace to many countries, while others think it's just a wasteful event and there are many aspects of human life that need to be improved. The following paragraph discusses both views and expresses my personal opinion that money should be spent in other areas than hosting events. On the one hand, for some, there is a reason why the Olympics can bring peace to the nations of the world. First of all, the Olympic Games is a grand event in which most countries in the world participate. This event provides a space for friends from various countries to meet and start communicating. Second, the situation is seen as providing many opportunities for countries to meet and talk. For example, before the host country starts a game or competition, all athletes gather in one hall to have dinner together. They usually use this moment to talk and have some exchanges so that the participants get to know each other. Therefore, it is believed that it can unite different regions. Others, however, felt the incident was considered a waste of money when other parts of life should be prioritized. The main reason behind this is that there are often countries that compete and are still classified as poor countries. Even worse is a country hosting the event. For example, according to BBC News 2020, Indonesia spends 40% of its annual income, is tax allocated to activity, while some parts of Indonesia still suffer from hunger. Therefore, instead of bringing benefits to the local people, this incident has made their living conditions worse. In conclusion, while some believe that the Olympics are considered beneficial and bring different countries together, others believe that it is just a waste of a lot of money. Both sides have their own views. I personally agree with the latter statement, it's just a waste of money.